Area Study Centre

Contact No: +92919216764


Area Study Centre, (Russia, China and Central Asia), University of Peshawar was established under a Parliamentary Act No.XLV of 1975. This is a research cum academic Institution dedicated to conduct across the board research and analysis on its area of study Russia, China & Central Asia. During the last 40 years, the Centre has established itself as a befitting seat of learning and research. Initial mandate of the Centre had been to work on Central Asia, however, later work on Russia & China was assigned as well. The main purpose of the Centre is to engage in high level teaching and research, train researchers through its M. Phil., and Ph.D., Programmes, promote cooperation in interdisciplinary research establishing relations with other research and teaching institutions, hold conferences, seminars and refresher courses to develop teaching and research. The Centre, funded by the Federal Government and supervised by a Board of Governor, has academically been affiliated with the University of Peshawar, Pakistan. The Centre enrolls 10 to 15 students twice a year in its M.Phil. and Ph.D. courses. The Centre has produced 91 Ph.D. and 46 M.Phil. Scholars till March 2023.

Area Study Centre (Russia, China & Central Asia) University of Peshawar has been publishing its biannual research journal "Central Asia" since 1978 Uninterrupted.

Central Asia is an internationally indexed journal recognized by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) Islamabad, Pakistan and has been kept in category “Y” having International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) 1729-9802 (Print) & 2706-8102 (Online). Articles published in Central Asia are Peer Reviewed and Plagiarism checked.

Statutory Bodies

 1.  Board of Governors

A Board or Governors is statutory body under the Act. Management, over-all control and supervision of the affairs of the Centre is administered by board of governors.

2. Academic Committee

It is also a statutory body under the Act. The major function of the academic Committee is to prepare and submit academic and research programs of the Centre to the Board of Governors.

  Functions of the Centre

  1. To engage in high level teaching and research
  2. To train research workers.
  3. To establish M.Phil., /MS/ Ph.D. and other programs in the relevant disciplines.
  4. To promote cooperation in inter-disciplinary relationship with other teaching / research establishments.
  5. To arrange conferences, seminars and refresher courses for the development of teaching and research

Faculty & Ministerial Staff

Prof. Muhammad Naeem Qazi ( Dean & Director)

Dr. Shabir Ahmad Khan ( Professor )

Dr. Muhammad Shafi (Assistant Professor)

Dr. Ahmad Farhan Saeed (Assistant Professor)

Dr. Muhammad Ali DinaKhel (Research Associate)

Mr. Mozaam Ali Khan (Research Associate)

Mr. Sahar Gul (Librarian)

Mr. Kamran Ali  (Establishment Officer)

Mr. Afzal Ahmad (Academic Assistant)